Sparkling Teacher of the Month: Miss Meg

Congratulations to Miss Meg! She was awarded our first Teacher of the Month award for the 2014/2015 school year! She had a wonderful month of September!
meg oneill
1) How do you ensure that you Sparkle each day as a teacher?
As a teacher I make sure that I SPARKLE each day by always coming to class with confidence and a plan! I like to make sure that each of my students are getting my complete attention so that they can become the best dancers they can be! I also like to make sure I’m always in communication with the parents, my fellow teachers, and my director so that our operation at Dance Exploration is running smoothly.
2) What do you love about being a Dance Exploration teacher?
I absolutely love being a Dance Exploration teacher because I get to see the excited faces of my students each day when they feel like they have finally gotten down a move or dance. It’s amazing how much dance can build a child’s confidence and I love leading by example.
3) What is a fun activity you do each class that the kids love?
My student’s favorite fun activity we do is Little Sally Walker because each student gets the opportunity to show off their own personal style of dance, while also teaching another student how to do the move. I believe this is important because it builds strong leaders and acceptance of all personalities in a classroom.
4) If you could give dance teachers a bit of advice for a smooth class, what would it be?
I’d advise all teachers to come in with a plan. Kids especially can tell when you are not prepared and will take advantage of the time you are trying to “think on your feet” by fooling around and becoming distracted. I always try to prepare for my classes the week before so that I utilize all my time to the fullest.
Leave a Reply

